Me & Emmett Kelly, Jr. – Long Island Jewish Hospital – September 1969

© Frank H. Jump

© Frank H. Jump

© Frank H. Jump

© Frank H. Jump

After having my appendix removed and being delirious in an oxygen tent with 106°+ fever, I woke up thinking I was dead. Next to me, watching me sleep, was Emmett Kelly, Jr. with his sad clown face. I remember saying, ” Hey, you’re Emmett Kelly, Jr.” His eyes popped out and he almost smiled. After getting me up for my first walk, we went to the playroom and played with the blocks for a while and then he went to visit other children.

Emmett Kelly Jr.

Emmett Kelly Jr. -The World's Famous Clown

Emmett Leo Kelly, Jr.

Emmett Leo Kelly, Jr. - Worlds Fair 1964 - Flushing, NY

Emmett Leo Kelly, Jr. (November 13, 1924 – November 29, 2006) – Wikipedia

5 responses to “Me & Emmett Kelly, Jr. – Long Island Jewish Hospital – September 1969

  1. Hi Frank and what a wonderful pictorial memory this is, thanks for sharing. Hope you had a great Thanksgiving 🙂
    Mal

  2. In answer to your question yes it is

  3. If that encounter did not give you a lifelong fear of clowns, I don’t know what would!

  4. Pingback: Emmett Kelly Jr Signature Found! « Fading Ad Blog by Frank H. Jump