Keuffel & Esser Co., Drafting Materials, Surveying Instruments… Hannes Taylor Co (Adv) – Ann Street, South of City Hall – NYC

Drafting Materials & Surveying Instruments & Measuring Tapes

Hannes Taylor Outdoor
© Frank H. Jump

According to Robert Baptista, this company was “Keuffel & Esser Co” Drafting Materials, Surveying Instruments, Measuring Tapes Hannes Taylor Co. NY

42 responses to “Keuffel & Esser Co., Drafting Materials, Surveying Instruments… Hannes Taylor Co (Adv) – Ann Street, South of City Hall – NYC

  1. The ad is for the Keuffel & Esser Co., makers of drafting equipment and surveying instruments. I still have my K&E drafting kit of compasses, pens, etc. that I used in a mechanical drawing course long ago at Stevens Institute of Technology in Hoboken. K&E had a factory there.

    The NYC government has published an extensive history of the landmark Manhattan building and a 1991 photo at the link http://www.nyc.gov/html/lpc/downloads/pdf/reports/k&e.pdf

  2. Totally cool PDF!

  3. I have a survey’s compass. It needs to be worked on as it quite old. Can you advise me as to where I can it to worked on ? I also need an owners manuel for it, can you advise on that also ?

    Thank you,
    Bernie

  4. I’m sorry – I just document old signage but maybe one of my readers might know and comment.

    Best of luck,
    Frank

  5. Hi,
    I have a Kueffel & Esser American Eagle Drawing Table.
    I am looking for a picture, a dates, and a value of my drawing table.
    Any other pertinant info would be welcome also.
    Ideas on where to go for info?
    Thank you,
    Doug

  6. Did Keuffel & Esser make inkwells? I have a portable silver one that I believe is inscribed with that name. Can you help?

    Thanks

    Lesley

  7. Dear Keuffel & Esser enthusiasts:

    This site documents fading advertisements. Feel free to use the comments on this posting to correspond with each other on K&E topics.

    Frank

  8. Doug,

    I too have an American Eagle drafting table and have tried to research the age with no luck. Depending on the condition I’ve seen them sell for $500 to around $2000 on ebay. Does your tabletop have a nameplate and stamp. If so, what number is your stamp?

    Thanks Frank for letting us takeover this thread.

    Kurt

    • scott keeton

      did u find any info on the american eagle drafting table? my dad left it to me and i was wanting to find out something about it. thanks for any help u may have.

  9. Sylvester L Gotaskie

    Hello, I have a K&E Surveying Compass numbered in Quadrants 80 0000, the carrying case, the item which screws into the base, a the small pin inside the case, and the original box they came in. All the above items are in excellent condition. I would like to know the value of the item because I have recieved a few offers for it. Thank you, Sylvester L. Gotaskie

  10. I too have a K&E American eagle drawing table, it has a plate on it with the number 47-1 and is stamped in the iron with a 45. Don’t know if this represents the year of manufacture or not. I would love to get info on this as well as a selling price.

  11. could you tell me when kueffel and esser company first began?

  12. BEATRIZ DE LA FUENTE

    TENGO ALGUNOS EQUIPOS DE TOPOGRAFIA COMO TEODOLITOS HAY UNO ES ESPECIAL MUY ANTIGUO NO SE SISEA MODELO PERO TIENE UNOS NUMEROS 98660 PAT PENDING.
    ME GUSTARIA SABER SI LE INTERESASN A ALGUIEN Y TENER UNA IDEA DE PRECIOS

  13. I HAVE AND OLD KEUFFEL ESSER COMPASS IT IS IN A WOODEN BOX AND IT IS 3″X3″X 1 ” DO YOU HAVE ANY IDEAL OF THE VALUE

  14. Inge Tessendorf

    Hi there

    I am looking for Keuffel & Esser, ‘Motoraser’ – Erasing machine Erasers (72mm x 30mm plugs and 60mm x 35.5mm plugs). Can anyone help me?

    • I have a Keuffel & Esser Motoraser. Just organizing my desk and came across it. Tried it…works great. No case, if there ever was any. Have no idea of the value or manufacture date. It is a 120 V. AC 25 W. 60 cycles.

  15. Christopher Jones

    I recently received a K&E compass set, It is an “Excelsior”, any knowledge of it’s age, or worth? It’s complete. It has of course “Germany” on the back of the tri-fold as well as #9325 in the lower left corner of front.
    Thank you for your time.

  16. My grandmother, maiden name Anita Hetch, worked as a commercial artist in New York City in the early part of the 2oth Century.

    I just had her original drafting table restored. Heavy iron base that is adjustable up or down, made of oak with decorative painting, two horizontal draws on the top with a drop leaf that is adjustable, one of three feet on the table has a little wheel that allows you to move the table more easily. Manufacturer’s brand is Keuffel & Esser. There is a number imprinted on the base of the table — 4225. I wonder if that is a patent # or a manufacturing number?

  17. I worked for K & E in teeterboro N.J in the late 70s. The company also sold film, paper, ink & drawing sets.I left in 1985, when the co was closing the teeterboro warehouse on huyler st opposite ronzoni.

    • Oliveri,
      do you know how tall the drafting tables were?
      were they ever around 37 inch tall? Or did they make short drafting tables?

  18. trying to date my keuffel and esser transit model # 707 with mahogony box

  19. I have a Keuffer & Esser black and brass transit in original box and tripod. The patent # 106754. I am trying to find out when it was made & roughly how much it’s worth. I have found some similar but not exactly. I really could use some help.

  20. I have a Keuffer & Esser drawing table. It’s in fair shape, well used table top with a few nicks. The legs where painted beige. Can’t find an i.d. number on it. All parts in working order. Any idea of the tables apx. value.

  21. Hello…I’m trying to date and find a value for a Keuffel & Esser drafting machine. From my Dad’s estate..here’s the markings on it…still in original box: US NAVY.BU NAV…36395

    MK II NO. 51.1935

    Any help would be much appreciated!
    Thank you.

  22. I have a K&E Sextant, Model 5226, Serial No. 42267, with a very nice Mahogany case. It has a small typed piece of paper tacked inside the cover stating “11-6-39, K & E Sextant 5226-42267, Correction for Eccentricity”, with the adjustments listed. This paper looks as though it was added by a previous owner. There is also an official looking plastic/velum label tacked inside the cover, which gives the K & E name with their office/manufacturing locations, the general products they made and the Model and Serial No. of this instrument. The serial number on the Sextant matches the information on the label and it appears to be complete, with all the parts, tools and attachments and is in very good condition. Would it be possible for you, or someone out there, to please tell me either a rough value or point me in the right direction for finding that information. If possible, I would also like to know when it was made.

    Regards,

    Chris Kuhn

  23. i have a K&E compase in metal black box the East and West heading are reversed nobody can figure out why they would be reversed…?

    • Just a guess does compass have a mirror in the top with a sight hole through it? if you take a sighting and read angle in the mirror because mirror image makes left right it would make west east so If you reverse them they will come out right.

  24. i HAVE A KEUFFEL & ESSER DRAFTING TABLE POPULAR TRADE MARK I THINK IT IS MADE OF OAK. DO YOU HAVE ANY IDEA OF THE VALUE.
    THANKS
    RICHARD REESE

  25. I am selling my Vintage K&E Draftin Machine with old School 60 X 38 Oak Drafting Table for in Miami
    David
    text 305 720 7753

  26. I HAVE A K&E RAILROAD TRANSIT #29937, WOULD LIKE TO FIND OUT HOW MUCH IT IS WORTH, THANKS, NORTH CAROLINA

  27. Reply to Dave re compass:
    The letters are reversedso that the operaster could read the direction of travel.

  28. I have a K & E survey instument (brass)made in the late 1800’s. It’s in excellent condition and has a wooden box that comes with it which is also in great condition. Any idea what it’s worth on today’s market? thanks 🙂

  29. Dennis Pryor

    Any ideas on value of set of mechanical drawing instruments w/leather carrying case which was obtained by/issued to Annapolis freshmen around 1922?

  30. I have a K&E Leroy Lettering Set (X89555) copyright 1944. It is in a wood case and contains 11 lettering templates, scriber arm & tracer pins. Wondering is this has any worth?

  31. I have a K&E Register rule that is also inscribed: Lithographic Technical Foundation, Inc. It measures 63-1/2″ long and is in a wooden box. Any idea of history adn/or value, if any? Thx.

  32. I just located a KEY Barch-Payzant original freehand lettering kit in case 11 pieces snap case w/# N 896 or 890 excellent condition . Dad had it and I was going through some things.
    Any idea of value . thx

  33. walt hammond

    I have an old K & E drafting table made of wood except that I need one of the metal pins used to adjust the legs or elevate and lower the tabletop. Any one know where I might get one of these metal pins.

  34. I have a set of K&E Pharos thats missing the small set of dividers. Can anyone help me complete the set?

  35. I have a K&E transit in box with tripod. #23925
    I would love to have as much info about this as possible – belonged to my dad and want to sell it.