Red Hook Revisited – Le Comte & Co. Inc.

© Frank H. Jump

© Frank H. Jump
© Frank H. Jump

Le Comte & Co., Inc. – Wolcott & Ferris

Tin Cans, Galvanized Iron & Terne Plate Drums for Export & Domestic Grade…”

6 responses to “Red Hook Revisited – Le Comte & Co. Inc.

  1. Ik ben verbaasd over de hoeveelheid materiaal waarover je blijkbaar beschikt. Deze foto’s zijn prachtig qua belichting en compositie.

  2. Dank u zeer (meneer?) mevrouw! Is Steffie jou naam? Of Wissel? Ik heb aan jou fotos ook gekeken op steffie’s wereld. Prachtig!

  3. Edward LeComte

    This was my family’s business. Founded in 1903, this was our second location. We were in Red Hook until my grandfather, Victor LeComte, moved the plant to 147 – 41st Street in Bush Terminal in 1933. The company remained there until my father, Douglas LeComte and I moved the plant to Roselle, NJ in 1987. The company closed in 1993.

  4. Richard LeComte

    That was my family’s business; it later moved to Bay Ridge.

  5. Edward & Richard- If you have any other pics of inside the business or if there is any signage remaining from the location to where you moved, let me know. I would love to post them and shoot any remnants to document the history of your business.

    Best,
    Frank

  6. Michael LeComte

    I lived in Brooklyn Heights for 5 years and had no idea how close I was to another LeComte. I’ll have to go check out the building the next time I’m in town.